January 2016 Book Haul

The first book haul of the year! I don’t plan to do a haul each month, but I’m not going to say that it isn’t possible that new books may sneak their way onto my shelves each month. This month I have a good mix of both print and ebooks (yay Kindle!) to share with you. While I noticed that many of them have a similar theme (suspense, family, mothers), I am happy to say that each of these books were purchased because I was simply browsing and couldn’t leave without them. Two books on this list I’d planned to buy, but I still lingered over them for a while before clicking that ever so tempting “1-click” button. Lets dive into what’s on the list for this haul.

Tithe

tithe cover

As I mentioned in my TBR list for this month, I grabbed this book because of two things: it’s been highly recommended and the cover is awesome. Bonus – Fae. Who doesn’t love a good YA fantasy novel? I am really hoping this will be one of those books that just sucks me in and lets me get lost inside the story for a couple of days. It usually doesn’t take me long to read books of this nature when they’re as well written as everyone says this is.

Before I Go to Sleep

beforeigotosleep.jpg

This was another book that I mentioned in my TBR list as being something I have been looking forward to reading for quite some time. While the initial idea of the story has always intrigued me (a woman who has amnesia and while journalling in an attempt to regain her memory, discovers she told her future self  to not trust her husband), I always just let this one sit on the back burner when I’d go into a store or look around on Amazon. This too I expect to be a quick read.

What Was Mine

whatwasminecover

 

The cover and the title were what drew me to the print copy of this book when I was out shopping. While I’ve noticed that psychological thrillers from female authors are even more in demand than ever (thanks Flynn, Hawkins and others!), this one demanded attention. The story involves a woman named Lucy who takes a stranger’s baby while at a grocery store and raises the baby on her own without anyone knowing it wasn’t really her baby for twenty years. This story sounds like a great mix of suspense and literary fiction, something that’s almost too hard to imagine, yet keeps you reading despite your reservations. I am really curious to see what my feelings are about Lucy from beginning to end.

Reconstructing Amelia

ReconstructingAmelia

This book has been on my radar since I discovered McCreight’s second novel Where They Found Her. While this will be my first read from McCreight, I expect it to be intense. Reconstructing Amelia follows the story of a mother named Kate who is a lawyer with a daughter who attends a prestigious boarding school. When Kate finds out that her daughter is having behavior problems at school, she intervenes only to find out that her daughter is dead. As a Law and Order junkie, I can’t help but think Kate is going to be leaning hard on her legal system knowledge while simultaneously being engulfed in the grief hat only a parent who has lost a child can know.

The Night Sister

TheNightSisterCover

In Jennifer McMahorn’s The Night Sister, we are introduced to the eerie, mystery laden Tower Motel, located in London Vermont (hurray New England!). The abandoned tower caused a deep drift between three friends. When Amy, Margot and Piper were at the abandoned motel and found something that would change all of their lives, and their relationships with one another. While the story itself confirmed my decision to buy this book, it was the eerily haunting cover that lured me in. Something about it has that perfectly haunted, intimidating yet alluring quality that’s so hard to resist (and rarely disappointing). I don’t get around to reading horror novels as often as I’d like, so this should be a real throwback to my younger reading days when the genre dominated my bookshelves.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

FantasticBeasts

Two awesome things about this purchase: it was on sale for really cheap, and it gets me back into the Harry Potter world. I somehow didn’t realize I didn’t already own this book until I picked up this copy and was browsing through it. I didn’t start reading the Harry Potter series until I was in college (thanks to my amazing first roommate who had a non-HP intervention on me). Incase you aren’t aware, this book catalogues all the Fantastic Beasts and gives all the info you could want. With so much of an awesome focus on personal development in the HP series, I just couldn’t pass this one up.
That’s all for this book haul. Did you pick up any books this month? Did you get any awesome bookish gifts over the holiday season? If you have any opinions about these books, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

