Top Ten Books on My Winter TBR

WinterTBRTTTCover

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday list discusses what we’ll be reading over the winter months. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book blog meme created by the Broke and Bookish. To learn more about Top Ten Tuesday, check out this page over at the Broke and the Bookish blog. I would love for this to be a true top ten list, but knowing how busy the holidays are, I’m not sure how many books I’lll actually get to, but here’s my ideal list. There’s no real rhyme or reason to how I listed these books other than to say that books I’m most likely to read are listed first.

1. Saga Vol 1-4 by Brian K Vaughan with illustrations by Fiona  Staples

I am just starting to read Saga Vol. 1. It’s one of my most anticipated graphic novel reads so I’m anxious to get into this one in preparation for the release of Saga Volume 4 release on 12/30/14. I may spread out reading these to give me a break between longer works.

2.The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

This has been on my TBR for a while and I hate having it just sit there begging to be read.

3. Cress by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles #3)

While I’ve been getting a little burnt out on YA reads, the Lunar Chronicles series has been so fun I can’t wait to read this one. The next book in the Lunar Chronicles Series, Fairest: Levanna’s Story will be released in January 2015.

4. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

This one has shown up on many TBR lists this year and I just keep putting it off. While I’m nervous about having less Rowell books to read, I want to get this one checked off my list.

5. Triangles by Ellen Hopkins

This one intrigues me as it’s the phenomenal Ellen Hopkins writing an adult novel. These always read quickly so I’m curious to see what this one is like.

6. The World of Ice and Fire: The Official History of Westeros and the world of A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Anything to help me better understand and decode the epic families and lives of this series is a must read for me. I love the Song of Ice and Fire series, so anything to satiate me until we have a release date for Winds of Winter makes me happy.

7. Yes, Please by Amy Poehler

I love Amy’s work and while I don’t read much non fiction, this looks like a fun read.

8. Elantris by Brandon Sanderson

I’ve really enjoyed this book, but I need to finish it. I want to know what happens but for whatever reason the pacing just wasn’t cutting it for me when I stopped. I’m hoping that having taken a break from it, I’ll be able to jump back in and finish it.

9. Dreamsongs by George RR Martin

I don’t know that I’ll finish this one as it’s a retrospective collection of short fiction but I’m excited to read at least a few pieces from this massive collection.

10. The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (Strike #2)

I really enjoyed reading The Cuckoo’s Calling, so I’m anxious to read the second novel in this series.

That’s all for my Top Ten Tuesday Winter TBR! I hope to get through at least half of the books before spring rolls around. What do you plan to read this winter? Do you have an annual reading goal you are working toward? Which of these books would you like to see a review of?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books on My Winter TBR

    • Thanks! The Lunar Chronicles are great. Even when I get burnt out on YA, the LC never gets old for me as it’s so unique and they read so quickly. I don’t think I’ve heard one person tell me they didn’t like E&P, I’m pumped to get into it.

  1. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everybody else encountering problems with
    your blog. It appears like some of the text in your posts are running off
    the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to
    them too? This might be a issue with my web
    browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Many thanks

    • Hi Carrie,

      Sorry to hear you’re having a problem reading posts. I’ve tested this post and a few others on Safari and Chrome with no issues. What browser are you using? Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

