Top Ten Tuesday: Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED To Read More

It’s not often that I find a book that makes me want to devour everything the author has written, but that’s exactly what this week’s Top Ten Tuesday list is all about. I loved what I’ve read from each of these authors, I just haven’t picked up any more of their work yet. Hopefully I can change that soon! I was surprised to see how challenging it was to come up with a list of authors who I haven’t read more then one book from (yet).

Note: These are listed in no particular order. You can click on the author’s name to visit their website.

Laurie Halse Anderson

I will never forget the night I began reading Anderson’s Wintergirls, as it was about 12 hours before our first child was born. I loved the way the story was built. The way the characters lingered in my mind when I wasn’t reading. I’ve been anxious to read Anderson’s other works, I’m not sure why I haven’t picked any up yet. I’m certain I’ll love everything she’s done.

John Rector

When I read The Grove I was floored. The writing was engaging and while the subject matter was disturbing, the characters were relatable. I could not put this book down. I picked up Already Gone as soon as I saw it on my kindle, but I haven’t read it yet. Perhaps a good read for the fall?

Jay Asher 

I read Thirteen Reasons Why when there was a ton of hype around it. Extremely popular/hyped books can make me a little anxious, but the plot of this one made me pick it up. I’m so glad I did. Suicide is not an easy subject to discuss or write about, but this story does a fantastic job of conveying a (sadly) believable story while sweeping us away in it’s own fantasy like haze. This book always makes me think of the film The Virgin Suicides. Despite the suicide parallel, I found Thirteen Reasons Why to be captivating and haunting equally as haunting as the Virgin Suicides.

Hugh Howey

SciFi is one of those genres I haven’t read much of, but am always interested in. I read the first novella in the Wool series earlier this year and really enjoyed it. Howey shows how masterfully one can submerge you into a world. I have heard nothing but good things about the rest of the Wool series, so I’m anxious to pick it up.

Kurt Vonnegut

Vonnegut is one of those authors I’d always meant to read, but honestly I was a little intimidated to read his work. I wondered if I’d “get it”. I remember seeing an interview with Vonnegut and Jon Stewart and thinking that Vonnegut seems like such an old soul. Reading Slaughterhouse Five was a really wonderful experience. I was surprised at how witty, smart and relatable the book was. I look forward to reading more of his work.

Which authors do you want to read more of? Have you ever read a book that was so great, you instantly bought another book by that author?

To learn more about the Top Ten Tuesday book meme and see the weekly Top Ten Tuesday topic list, visit The Broke and the Bookish blog.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED To Read More

  1. I almost put Laurie Halse Anderson on my list too. I read Wintergirls for my Children’s Lit class last year and was so impressed by it. The writing style and form of the book were so perfect for the story it told. Reading it made me eager to pick up her other books too.

    • I’m so glad that Wintergirls made it into a Children’s Lit class. Anderson is certainly a force to be reckoned with. She makes intense, haunting and meaningful story telling seem effortless.

Leave a Reply

