Reading Requirements and Love Triangles

Today’s daily prompt from The Daily Post reads “Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?” 

It took me a while to choose what book I would put at the top of my reread list. There are so many books on my TBR list that I (sadly) don’t give rereads a lot of thought these days. Given the above scenario, the book I would put at the top of my reading list is A Pair of Blue Eyes by Thomas Hardy. 

APairOfBlueEyes

The reason I picked Hardy’s A Pair of Blue Eyes is because it’s been ten years since I was first assigned this book in a college literature course, and I still  get chills thinking about how this book made me feel. If you are unfamiliar with Hardy, A pair of Blue Eyes is the story of a girl named Elfride Swancourt who gets herself into a bit of a love triangle between two men. Mr. Knight is a distinguished gentleman while young Stephen Smith is an architect. 

On the surface, this book does not appear to be something I would enjoy, but I devoured this book while in university. I know for myself and many others, reading Classics can be a bit daunting, especially if you aren’t accustom to reading them. What I love about Hardy’s novels is that they are so accessible. 

From the map of Hardy’s Wessex (which always reminds me of a fantasy novel)  to the countless bookmarks and notes I made in this book (don’t worry, I’ve reformed my ways with writing in books!), A Pair of Blue Eyes is a treasure trove of ideas for me. This was a book that opened me up to a whole genre that I may have otherwise overlooked for fear of not being able to relate to story (or understand it). Besides, who wouldn’t want to read a book responsible for the the term “cliffhanger“? 

Image Source

2 thoughts on “Reading Requirements and Love Triangles

Leave a Reply

