Friday Reads for 7.18.14

I love following #FridayReads on Twitter and Facebook, so I figured I’d talk a little bit about what I’m reading this weekend.

ElantrisCoverMy big goal for the weekend is to knock out a couple hundred pages in Brandon Sanderson’s Elantris. This is a stand alone fantasy novel that I stared a couple of weeks ago. I’ve really enjoyed it thus far, but I tend to take my time when reading fantasy. I really love the characters in this book. The different viewpoints helps keep me turning the pages, and the variety of personal, religious and political issues going on in the book is fantastic. When I started reading Elantris, I was quickly reminded of the infamous Song of Ice and Fire series because of how vast the world is, how intertwined the characters are, and how wonderful Sanderson’s writing is. If I can get through a couple hundred pages this weekend that will put me about half way through the book.

Normally, I’d be all about switching up what I’m reading and have a couple of books going at a time, but where as I’ve finished another book that I started after beginning Elantris, I don’t want to distract myself any more from this book until it’s finished.

Happy Reading!

Image Source

Leave a Reply

