Top Ten Books I Want to Reread

Okay, I know what you’re thinking — Why am I posting my #TopTenTuesday list on Wednesday? Well, all I can say is the long weekend threw me off. My apologizes for not getting this up yesterday.

The topic for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, created and hosted by Broke and Bookish is a freebie week. I’ve decided to list the books I’m most excited to reread. I haven’t always been the type to reread books, but I love revisiting stories and finding new things I may not have noticed in the first read through. From fantasy to crime fiction, I’ve got a good variety of books to revisit. I hope you enjoy my list!

1. Harry Potter Series  by JK Rowling

The Harry Potter series is one that is near and dear to my heart. I never picked up the books until I was in college, but once I started reading them I couldn’t put them down. I started rereading this series last year and am anxious to finish rereading it as I only made it through the first three books before my attention was pulled elsewhere.

 HPSSCover1

 

Image Source

2. The Hobbit

This epic fantasy novel about adventure, self discovery and friendship is one I have only read once, but I loved every minute of it. It’s been a few years since I first read The Hobbit, and want to revisit it before reading the Lord of the Rings trilogy this year.

HobbitCover

Image Source

3. Room by Emma Donoghue

A book about a mother and small child trapped in a small storage shed for the child’s entire life is not something that is easy to read, but somehow Emma Donoghue makes this story come to life in a way that you feel like you’re reading a memoir of some horrible kidnapping victim. This book was so masterfully written and had beautiful insights that it was impossible to put down. I’d love to revisit it again soon.

RoomCover1

Image Source

4. The Grove by John Rector

This was one of my favorite finds of 2011. The story follows a man who finds and then revisits the body of a dead woman in a grove near his home. He knows what he is doing is wrong (and bordering on insane), but he finds himself having a strong connection with this corpse. Despite the odd “relationship” that is formed, it’s easy to empathize with the characters and want to know what will happen to them. It was equal parts creepy and addicting. I curious to see if I’ll be as enthralled with it the second go around. GroveCover1

Image Source

5. The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis

With everything from magic wardrobes, talking animals and mystical creatures, The Chronicles of Narnia has a bit of everything. It has been well over a decade since I read this series, and I still think of it often. This series was what really opened me up to the Fantasy genre, and  I’ve been meaning to reread it ever since. The films were a great adaptation, but I’ve missed reading the original stories that Lewis created.
NarniaCover1

Image Source

6. Elizabeth Street: A novel based on true events by Laurie Fabiano

Coming form a large Italian family, this book hit home for me often. The connections within the community were palpable and the storytelling was hauntingly beautiful. It’s hard to read stories that have such heartbreak and know that it actually happened to someone, but there is such great redemption and personal triumph in this story that it’s worth every minute.ElizStCover1

Image Source

7. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larson

I first read this series when the third book was being published. I wasn’t sure I’d enjoy it at first, but I quickly learned why everyone was loving about these stories. I often find myself reminiscing about this book and it’s characters. The series was such a great mystery and read quickly. It also made me want to visit Stockholm as I was constantly checking it out on Google Earth as I read the series.GirlDragonTattooCover1

  Image Source

8. Christine Falls (Quirke #1) by Benjamin Black (aka John Banville)

This dark mystery had me hooked from the first page. I don’t read many crime novels, but this one has stuck with me for years. I’ve always wanted to continue the series, but I want to refresh my memory before continuing on. I remember it was one of the first books I read on my kindle that I was completely hooked on from the first page. The imagery was beautiful and haunting, and the characters were never quite what they seemed to be.

Image Source

9. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

This is by far my favorite classic novel. I loved the depth of the story and that it wasn’t what you’d expect from the Hollywood adaptations that have spawned from it. I remember reading this for a course in college and thinking it was the most accessible classic I’d read to date. I can only imagine how fascinating it must have been to read it when it was originally published in 1818.

FrankensteinCover1

Image Source

10. Switched by Amanda Hocking

This is one of my favorite YA reads out there. I loved that the story centered around trolls. The pacing was great and the stories had a little bit of everything. I love that Amanda Hocking’s books are light and fast paced, but that there is still great attention to detail and her imagery is fantastic.

SwitchedCover1

Image Source

I’m sure there are more books I could add to this list. Perhaps this can become a tradition of rereading books every few years to stay fresh on my favorite stories.

What books do you look forward to rereading? Are there any books that you revisit regularly?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Want to Reread

Leave a Reply

