Bout of Books 10.0 Wrap Up

The week long Bout of Books 10.0 read-a-thon has come to a close. I’m sorry I wasn’t able to post an update during the week on my progress, but I’ll share things with you now.

My overall goal was to just read as much as possible for this read-a-thon, though I was hoping to get through at least a few books.

Here’s what I did:

Finished the last 150 or so pages of Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles II). I loved this book and was glad to finish it. Keep an eye out for the full review coming soon.

Started and read the first 70 pages of Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut. This is my first time reading Vonnegut. I’m really enjoying this book so far, but I find myself reading it slowly so I can absorb everything I’m reading.

Land of the Dragor (Gift of Charms) by Julie Susuki. This was sent to me as an ARC in preparation for the upcoming release of the book which will be available in paperback on September 4th, 2014. This is a children’s book dealing with the life of dragons. I got about forty pages into this book throughout the read-a-thon. So far I think it’s a fun read and has good lessons for the target age group (8-12 years old). Will also be reviewing this soon.

In total, I read about 300 pages. That’s not much for a lot of the Bout of Books participants, but I’m happy with what I accomplished. Once I finish these two books I have at least one more I want to read before we move on to June.

Leave a Reply

