Wishlist Wednesday

Welcome to my first Wishlist Wednesday! I don’t want to swamp this blog with memes, but I also think it’s fun to shake things up and do something a little different. If you’re unfamiliar with this one, Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog meme that originated over at Pen to Paper. The goal is to share a book you’ve been aching to add to your shelves and why you’re interested in picking it up.

For this Wishlist Wednesday, I’ve picked Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

fangirlcoverbig

 

Truth be told, I have owned Eleanor and Park for almost a year now and have yet to read it, and if I had both on my shelves, I think I’d want to read Fangirl first. I’ve always heard amazing things about Rainbow Rowell’s writing, so I’m not sure why I haven’t read any of her books yet.

What is Fangirl?

Fangirl tells the story of two sisters, Wren and Cath who are starting life in college. Cath has always been very attached to her sister and is engrossed in her world of Fan Fiction writing based on her favorite book series about a boy named Simon Snow. When Cath learns that her sister does not want to be roommates at college and the reception of her fan fiction isn’t quite what she expected from her professors, Cath has to find a way to balance all the changes going on in her life while staying true to herself.

This book intrigues me because I tend to “fangirl” a lot. I may not always be as public about it as some people, but open that door and I’m in. I’ll gush about said topic for as long as you’ll let me. Fangirl sounds like a refreshing take on the YA world: dealing with college instead of high school, a strong focus on sibling relationships, and hearing that Simon Snow is similar to Harry Potter makes me even more curious to see what this book is all about.

Have you read Fangirl or other Rainbow Rowell works? What books do you wish were on your shelves?

 Image Source

One thought on “Wishlist Wednesday

Leave a Reply

