Book Buying Influences

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how I choose the books I buy/read. Before the days of social media (or at least when it was in it’s infancy), I found new books to read by wandering through bookstores and picking up whatever “spoke to me”. I still love doing this, but I don’t make it out to the bookstore as often as I’d like. The other main source of book discovery back then was a huge list I’d compiled of books I’d hear people mention or that people would recommend to me. When I was in college, this list was massive. Sadly, I lost it somewhere along the way and had to restart, but I still have a running  list of books I hear or read about from various sources.

Now that I do most of my book buying online, I find that I am largely influenced by suggestions based on my previous purchases, or books I hear about through BookTube, GoodReads and Twitter. It’s a great way to find books, but what I find a little bit challenging is that it’s hard to escape the hype that some books have, especially when a particular book is talked about nonstop. Hype is fine, but I find that personally, it’s easy to be sucked in by the hype of a book rather than an actual interest in the story itself. I’m not saying that people shouldn’t rave about or recommend books that they love, I am completely in favor of promoting what you enjoy, but I also think it’s nice to have a wide range of reading influences.

I am hoping that through doing a bit more browsing through my local book stores and libraries that I achieve more of a balance in what is on my TBR list while still enjoying all of the books I’ve been hearing about online.

Leave a Reply

