Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things On My Bookish Bucket List

Here we are, with another Top Ten Tuesday list. I wasn’t planning on doing two lists in a row, but this one seemed too fun to pass up (click here to see last week’s list). If you want to read up on this week’s topic or upcoming Top Ten Tuesday topics, visit The Broke and Bookish Top Ten Tuesday page to learn more.

1. Tackle my TBR pile

This is a given for most any reader I know. The urge to buy books is great, and the amount of time to read all of those books is small. While I have read a good amount of the books I own, I am guessing I have more unread books than I do read books.

2. Go to a Book Signing

This is something I’ve always wanted to do but for some reason have never looked into. I love having signed copies and meeting some authors (who I didn’t already know in person) would be great.

3. Read More Classics

I used to read classics all the time for university, but once I finished school, I didn’t pick up as many classic works. I still enjoy them and am a bit ashamed of how many I haven’t read yet.

4. Read Everything on NPR’s Top 100 Sci-Fi and Fantasy List

Compiled in 2011, this list of Sci Fi and Fantasy novels is too tempting to resist. When I first discovered this list a few months back, I was surprised to see that I’ve read a fair amount of these books, or own many of them that I haven’t read. These genres keep sticking out to me as a reader, which makes me want to check them all off my TBR list (someday).

5. Read More Books in a Year

For a couple of years, I would shoot for 50 books a year. I’d have a good run and then life would get in the way. This year, I’ve only committed to reading 30 books as I want to focus more on my writing, but I’d like to figure out a way to fit more books into my annual reading goals without sacrificing other important projects.

6. Read More Indie Books

Since I first discovered Indie books through my Kindle a few years ago, I have fallen in love with many self published authors. Some of my top books of the year for the past few years have been indie books, and I’d like to keep reading them.

7. Finish the Dark Tower Series

This one scares me. I started reading this series back in 2012. I spaced the first six books out over the course of the year and really loved them. I picked upthe final installment,  The Dark Tower (Book 7) in early 2013, but I just haven’t been able to bring myself to read it. For some reason, I’m intimidated by it. Maybe it’s just because everyone has hyped it up so much, but I’m not sure how I’ll deal with that world being “finished”.

8. Build Up my Home Library

This is an ongoing project as I purposely didn’t buy physical books for a few years thanks to my Kindle. I love e-readers, but I want to have more physical books in the house, especially with young children who love to read. I also want to expand the amount of children’s books we have as our oldest will be learning to read sooner than later, and I want to give her plenty of books to choose from.

9. Gift more Books

Every year around the holidays I say to myself that I wish I had planned things out more so that I could include at least one book with every gift I give family and friends during the holidays. I love sharing books and reading with others, so I want to make this a priority if not a tradition.

10. Read Outside my Comfort Zone

While I have read a lot of things I wouldn’t normally pick up, there are still genres I haven’t touched on much (such a Westerns). I want to read everything, even if it just shows me why other people like to read it.

What’s on your Top Ten Bookish Bucket List?

Leave a Reply

