My Go-To Authors to Get Me Out of a Reading Slump

Reading is one of my favorite things to do, but like anything else, I get burnt out sometimes. When a reading slump hits, I need to read something that is going to go by quickly and keep me engaged the whole time. While I could name a seemingly endless list of authors that I love to read on any given day, these five authors always seem to help me get out of a reading slump the fastest and leave me feeling eager to pick up the next book.

Augusten Burroughs

Augusten Burroughs is my favorite non fiction author. Like others who read his hit Running With Scissors, I instantly fell in love his sense of humor. His short stories in particular always make me laugh out loud and his ability to find meaning in the darkest of life’s experiences always amazes me. While he won’t sugar coat anything in his books, he also has the ability to leave me feeling as though I can take on the world with the right attitude.

Elle Casey

I discovered Elle Casey’s work last year. She’s an indie author who writes YA dystopian, urban fantasy, and romance novels. I’ve only read Casey’s YA work thus far, but her books are well written, fast paced and her characters are memorable. Casey also publishes at an astonishing rate and gives her readers a publishing schedule right on her website. Many of her books are also super affordable via e-book format.

Stephen King

I may not have read the majority of King’s works (yet), but Stephen King has been one of my go-to authors for as long as I can remember being able to read his work. His writing style seems effortless, and makes me feel as if he’s in the room just telling me a story himself. His flare for the supernatural always keeps me on my toes and gives me something to think about after I’ve finished reading.

Ellen Hopkins

I was always intrigued by Ellen Hopkins YA books. Their size intimidated me for a while, but once I picked up Impulse last year, I was hooked. I love how honest and realistic Hopkins characters are. Her verse style of writing makes her writing incredibly fast paced, and yet her stories linger in my mind. I am anxious to read more of her works, both in the YA and Adult fiction genres.

 

JK Rowling

I didn’t start reading JK Rowling’s Harry Potter series until my freshman year in college. I’d always been curious about it, but I just wasn’t big on popular fiction at the time. My then roommate insisted I had to read it and I was so glad I did. Rowling’s world building, relationships and writing style amaze me to this day. Last year, I began rereading the series for the first time in a while and it’s been nice reliving everything all over again. I haven’t picked up The Casual Vacancy or The Cuckoo’s Calling, but I’m excited to read them both within the year.

Who are your favorite authors to read when you need something to get you out of a reading slump?

3 thoughts on “My Go-To Authors to Get Me Out of a Reading Slump

  1. Great list of writers Mia. Stephen King is definitely my go to author to get me back on track again. I’ve just finished reading “Thinner” and found it to be just the fixer for a horrible reading slump I was enduring! Great blog, Loving your posts!

  2. Pingback: Reading Slump | Mia Reads

Leave a Reply

